The complete automotive resource for buyers, sellers, and owners like you.
------ Advertisement. Support us by joining the Roadfly Inner Circle to optionally hide this banner ad. ------
Alerts Forum | Post Reply | Preferences | Search | Archives | Boards FAQ | Notify the Admins

Alerts Forum
Welcome to Roadfly
Roadfly Official Time:
Nov 21, 2009 9:51pm EST
Search this Forum:

More search options
Community Links
Events Calendar
Member Photo Galleries
Member Car Blogs
IC© Membership
IC© Photo Hosting
Roadfly Stickers
Newest Forums Newest Forums at Roadfly
Porsche Panamera
BMW X6 (E71)
Jaguar XF (2008)
For Sale Forum
Group Buy Forum
Ferrari Forums
Lamborghini Forums
Maserati Forums
Roadfly Lounges
Regional Forums
Automotive Related Forums
General Discussion Forums
BMW X5 (E70)
Ultra Garage
Car Insurance
BMW M3 (E92 M3)
BMW Z4 Coupe (E86)
Auto Shows
Jaguar XK
Inner Circle
Porsche Cayman
Corvette C6/Z06 Forum
Specialty Automotive Forums for all Cars, Trucks and SUVs
Audio/Video Forum
Car Insurance Forum
Detailing Forum
Financing/Leasing Forum
Forced Induction Forum
Specialty Lighting Forum
Models (miniatures)
Lemon Law Forum
Ultra Garage Forum
Wheel and Tire Forum
Test Forum
Car, Truck and SUV Forums at Roadfly
+ Bentley Forums
+ BMW Forums
+ Cadillac Forums
+ Chevrolet Forums
+ Ferrari Forums
+ Jaguar Forums
+ Lamborghini Forums
+ Lotus Forums
+ Mercedes-Benz Forums
+ Maserati Forums
+ MINI Forums
+ Porsche Forums
+ General Discussion
+ Marketplace Forums
Roadfly General Forums
Alerts Forum
Help Desk
Inner Circle
General Lounge Forums
Politics Lounge Forum


  
Mod-O-Matic (beta!): Please vote with care. You must be logged in to use Mod-O-Matic Move post to: For Sale | Group Buy | Off Topic | NWS/Adult    Remove due to Spam/Troll | Prohibited       Highlight as: Informative | Success Story
 
Author:  
Steve L on 2004-10-18 at 12:41:52(posted from: Host: ip70-178-76-6.ma.dl.cox.net IP: 70.178.76.6) 
    
Subject:  
Scam targetting Roadfly Classifieds (1861 views) 
Message: Deal that is too good to be true.

We've had problems recently with people listing items for sale in the classifieds that are simply too good to be true. Like a new, Valentine1 radar detector for $150. Or a set of Angel Eye headlights for $350. Typically, the seller is from a foreign country (but not always), and the e-mail exchange goes something like this (see below - start at bottom and work your way up):




From: xxx@yahoo.com
Subject: Re: Per fraud alert on M3SAMSAM
Date: June 23, 2004 2:33:30 PM CDT
To: admin@roadfly.com

Will do, thanks for posting the fraud alert.
(username removed by Roadfly to protect identity)

--- Roadfly Administrator wrote:

Thanks for the info. If you see any ads like this in the future,
please forward them to us so that we can work to try and catch him.

Thanks,
Steve


--- On Jun 23, 2004, at 2:26 PM, xxx wrote:


Note: forwarded message attached.

This guy almost had me, here is my correspondence
with him, hope it helps you catch this dishonest punk.




__________________________________
Do you Yahoo!?
Yahoo! Mail - 50x more storage than other providers!
http://promotions.yahoo.com/new_mail



From: "Sam Shive"
Date: June 23, 2004 12:01:36 PM CDT
To: "xxx"
Subject: Re: ***QUESTION RE: YOUR CLASSIFIED LISTING*** info request from Roadfly.org


It came ot og a 2000 528i. I am not selling anything else. Please send the money as soon as you can so I can ship it out to u faster. thanks


----- Original Message -----
From: "xxx"
To: "Sam Shive"
Sent: Wednesday, June 23, 2004 7:34 AM
Subject: Re: ***QUESTION RE: YOUR CLASSIFIED LISTING*** info request from Roadfly.org


Sam,
I am still waiting on the $$ to go through. Can you tell what year and model BMW the lights came out of?

Also I noticed you pulled the ad from roadfly, do you have anything other accessories that you are selling, such as the updated rear lights.

Thanks,
(username removed to protect identity.)


--- Sam Shive wrote:
Here are the pictures. Yes theses will fit prefectly without any mods, its plug and play. If you are interested please send me your full address and send payment to my paypal account which is: foreverf2004@yahoo.ca


----- Original Message -----
From: "Roadfly User"
To:
Sent: Friday, June 18, 2004 8:33 AM
Subject: ***QUESTION RE: YOUR CLASSIFIED LISTING*** info request from Roadfly.org


Please tell me more about your *** 528 540 M5 Angel Eye Headlight Classified Listing ***

Could you send the pics for the lights please. I have a 1998 528i, from your description it sounds like it might be a perfect fit without any mods needed.
Thanks,
(username removed to protect identity)




__________________________________
Do you Yahoo!?
Yahoo! Mail is new and improved - Check it out!
http://promotions.yahoo.com/new_mail



ATTACHMENT part 2 image/jpeg name=43_1_b.jpg


ATTACHMENT part 3 image/jpeg name=97_1.jpg

 
 



 Alerts Forum | Message Posts:




 Post Reply:


Posting form not available.

The most likely reason you are seeing this message is that you have not yet
signed in to your Roadfly account.
Make sure you are logged in to your Roadfly account to ensure you don't see this message in the future.



Questions, comments, or problems, please visit the Roadfly help desk.
Roadfly.com Logo © 1997 - 2009 Jump Internet Inc. All rights reserved.